Giving away…

Four days till Christmas!  Life always seems to get crazy before Christmas, you know…last minute shopping, coping with the crowds, traffic etc.  In Lagos we have several added bits of craziness.

Firstly, there are long queues for fuel, don’t ask me why! When I went to the club this morning, to go swimming (my first bit of exercise in ages), we could barely get into the club because of the two lanes of traffic queuing for the fuel station that is just down the road from the club.  Positioned at the entrance to the club road were policeman/security, who were only allowing entry to those going to the club, others had to take a different road on their travels or get to the back of the fuel queue, if that is what they came for.

The second bit of craziness became evident to me after our swim this morning, when we were greeted with several of the security guards at the club, who followed us to the  car saying “Happy Christmas”.  Now, I can hear you asking what is wrong with that, after all, it is the Christmas season. Well, that is their way of saying “Make my Christmas happy…give me money”.  As we drove down the road the aforementioned police/security stopped us to say….you guessed it…”Happy Christmas”. Unfortunately, we did not make anyone’s Christmas happy! Over the next couple of weeks we will be pestered at every turn as the road blocks and police presence increase.  This all brings on a feeling of guilt for me. However, it is impossible to give to everyone who asks, so I try to look after my staff, as well as giving to charity in various ways.

Today I leave you this quote:-

A Christmas candle is a lovely thing;
It makes no noise at all,
But softly gives itself away.
~Eva Logue

Maybe, I have made too much noise about giving away!

2 thoughts on “Giving away…

Leave a Reply

