A Red Rose…

O, my luve’s like a red, red rose,
That’s newly sprung in June.

Robert Burns.

Shall I reveal my ignorance? I thought that poem was written by Shakespeare! Anyway, the kind search engine on the ‘net enlightened me on that matter!

Today is our 33rd wedding anniversary. Yikes, where does the time go? I will let you in on a little secret…I forgot that today was the day, until my daughter, bless her, sent me a “Happy Anniversary” text. This morning I was a lazy, tired girl and had not heard my husband get up and go to work, so he had not reminded me of the fact! On receiving my daughter’s wishes I sent, text-haste, a message to my poor, neglected man giving him the wishes of the day. He smugly told me that he had remembered yesterday. Later on, my steward came running up the stairs, ran into one of the bedrooms, saying something about the driver and came out with a bunch of roses. Apparently the driver had delivered them earlier, but Jean (pronounced the French way) had forgotten to bring them to me! I phoned my husband of 33 years to explain the reason for my not having thanked him earlier.

Jean cannot really be blamed for forgetting about the flowers, as there has been a flurry of people around today. One of the garden gates had to be mended, an air-conditioner had to be checked and the generator needed fixing too.

Naturally, the roses had to be photographed and posted on my blog…



Leave a Reply

