Phew!…

Do you see these two discs?

Well the one on the left is a regular size CD, while the one on the right is a teeny CD/disc thingy. This small, teeny disc thingy is actually an instruction manual for ย this gadget…

Nah, it is not just a clock. This smart gadget, as well as being a clock, can also give one:-

Wind Speed

Wind Chill Factor – ummm…I do not think “chill” is a factor here in Lagos!

Temperature – definitely on the high side here ๐Ÿ™‚

It also has:-

A North Reference compass – might be useful if I want to navigate around the yacht club ๐Ÿ˜‰

Programmable Race Timer – could be useful if I can follow the instructions!

Chronograph with 50 lap times – could be fun to see how fast Tom runs circles around me!!!

All in all, it looks to be a wonderful gadget. That is if I wanted all those functions. I really only got it for the yacht club, as we often need a hand-held anemometer i.e. a wind speed reader.

The main purpose of this post is to tell you what happened when I decided see what was on the teeny disc thingy. I inserted it into the CD slot on my computer and …..it got swallowed up in said slot and I could not eject it…aaaaagghhh!

Being a very technically minded girl, I ….PANICKED!!! I looked disbelievingly at the offending slot and saw that the disc was peeking out ever so slightly, so I pressed various keys that I thought would eject the disc. Nope, it stayed stuck! Then I got a pair of tweezers and tried to grab it. Nope, it stayed elusively out of reach. Next I thought, “Aha, I have not inserted it in far enough.” So, I pushed it in further, tried tapping keys again…no…sign of the dratted disc! No obliging icon came up on the screen to say there was a disc in there…aagghh!

Okay…breathe….calm down….followed by a panicked prayer, “Please, please, please God!”.

Next… I shut down computer…restarted computer….ummm…no joy! More controlled panic. Thoughts of having to wait 4 weeks till I go to the UK before I could take my computer to the Apple store and confess my stupidity entered my head!

Got out computer manual and had a look to see if there was anything there about un-ejected discs. I tried the various suggestions, all to no avail.

Then I got really technical. I shut down the computer, yet again, turned it over, located the teeny, tiny screws and took the back off the computer, only to find the CD compartment is neatly and firmly fixed in with more screws. Ummm…dare I…NO! I did not dare to try and unscrew that!

Eventually, I went downstairs to Tom and said “Help!” in a rather, small voice. I confessed my dilemma to him. He very graciously did not tell me what an idiot I was, but came upstairs and had a look at the inside of my computer. He confirmed my decision not to try and get inside the CD compartment and then came up with a brilliant idea…replace the back cover of the computer and turn it on its side and give it a shake!

What do you know? It worked! I gave the computer a shake and a tap and…voila…the disc appeared. I grabbed it and took it out before it could get swallowed up again! PHEW!

God did answer my prayer…through my husband, who is my hero of the day ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Phew!…

  1. hahaha, my first thought was… turn it on it’s side and shake it!! Now if the photo Gramps took of dad and I walking at the Oberoi isn’t proof he is my dad, then surely this is!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

