That Saturday/Sunday Thing…

As I have mentioned before, when I am in Lagos, Saturday is my work day, albeit unpaid 🙂  This past weekend involved my being busy at the yacht club on Saturday and Sunday. The Hobie 16 fleet had a two day regatta and I was doing the Bridge again.

Our committee boat for the weekend was a big sailboat called a Beneteau and that is about all I can tell you about it! Even though I am involved with sailing, I am not a sailor and only help with the running of the races. I can tell you a bit about the flags, start procedures and finishes, but as for the finer details of the names, sizes etc of yachts, I plead blissful ignorance! So, all I can say about our committee boat, is that it is big enough to go sailing off into the ocean blue and is kitted out to sleep about 8 people. For us to have the use of that boat was luxury indeed! We did not sail too far off into the ocean blue, neither did we sleep on board, but we spent two fairly long days aboard whilst overseeing the Hobie races. We were anchored a kilometre or so offshore. The downside of bobbing around on the ocean blue for me, is that I have to take seasick tablets and they make me very sleepy. I managed to stay awake and somewhat alert through pure necessity, but by the end of both days I was absolutely exhausted!

In spite of the hard work and tiredness, it was a good weekend. The sea was not too rough, the sun was shining and there were fair winds for the sailors. I took my camera with me, but I had very little leisure time in which to take photographs.  I was able to take a couple of pictures whilst we were cruising to and from our anchor point.

Oops…this boat had a mishap just after the start of the first race on the way out of the harbour and that was the end of the weekend’s sailing for that boat…

On our way out of the harbour…

Some of the boats on their way back home during the last race on Saturday…

I have not been able to take photos for this week’s Scavenger Hunt Sunday, but the following photo represents one of the topics to me…

“Calm”.

Sitting by the water watching the sun go down after a busy weekend…

One thought on “That Saturday/Sunday Thing…

Leave a Reply

