Butterfly and other thoughts…

Nine days into January and this is the first time I have posted in the new year. If I don’t look out, I might do worse than last year in the number of times I put something on my blog!

One thing I have done is to choose a new theme for my blog. New Year….new theme.

Life is slowly getting back to normal and is certainly a lot quieter after there being ten of us in the house over the holiday period. My children have all left to go back to their various homes and work. Exciting times are ahead of us this year, as we await the arrival of two grandchildren. Have I mentioned it before? Both my daughter and daughter-in-law are expecting their first children. Of course, on our part, that requires a trip to the UK to meet the babies when they arrive. Mmmm…I wonder if I can bear to make the trip there??? Ha ha! Of course I can! Any excuse to go to the UK πŸ™‚ I must say that I think they are very considerate in being due in May…late spring/early summer!

I have lots to do before going over there…I have two quilts to make, amongst other things. At the moment, I have not decided on what patterns etc to do for the quilts. Once I have done so, I should probably record the process here on my blog. In my previous post, I was saying that I had not decided what to do with my blog this year…maybe the quilts could the subject for a couple of posts.

Just before my 3rd son left, he found this butterfly in the garden. We weren’t sure if it had been injured or was battling in the strong winds, as it was not moving much and did not seem very energetic. However, it did make it easy to photograph. It had the most beautiful markings.

I am also linking up to Lori’s Mandarin Orange Monday

Butterfly 05

Butterfly 02

For this final photograph I added an orange overlay, after all it is Mandarin Orange Monday πŸ˜‰

Butterfly 04

LorikArt
3 thoughts on “Butterfly and other thoughts…

  1. Beautiful series! I like the way you first emphasised the design and contrast and then in the last – the transformation – the texture and orange glow. Thank you for sharing it on Mandarin Orange Monday:)

  2. You can’t put pics of Peanut’s quilt on here before it’s finished and you have given it to Peanut… I want to be surprised by the final product πŸ™‚ Exciting!!
    What a pretty butterfly!!

Leave a Reply

