This Is Your Life…

Over at WordPress’s The Daily Post today’s prompt is “This Is Your Life” – If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover. 

A book containing all that has happened or will ever happen in my life??

The thought of that is quite daunting. A whole book about me? A whole book about what has happened to me? Would it be a best seller or would I be the only reader?

Over the years I have kept journals. Let me qualify that statement…I have written at  intervals ranging from frequently to the not-so-frequently, in fact mainly occasional journaling! I am a good starter, but a terrible finisher.

I have read through some of those journals. Sometimes I laughed, sometimes I cried, sometimes I cringed. There were happenings that I had forgotten about and certainly things that I would rather forget about. Of course, there were things that brought back good feelings and happy memories.

I regret to say that those journals have been binned. Over the years of having to move house, countless times, and countries, three times in the last 20 years, I have had to have clear outs and my journals were amongst the sacrifices. Why? Apart from the fact that they were taking up unnecessary room, I do not really think that they are of much interest to others. Maybe, I am wrong. Maybe somewhere down the line one of my future relations will be on “Who Do You Think You Are?” and the journals would have given them a glimpse into my life.

If there was a book about my life, past, present and future, I would not choose to read it. Right now, I remember the important things that have already happened and I do not want to know what the future holds. I do not really want to know the bad/sad things that are going to happen and finding about the good things would be like opening a present before the appropriate day. It would spoil the fun.

P.S. Would my book be in hardcover, paperback or Kindle?

Kindle Book

2 thoughts on “This Is Your Life…

Leave a Reply

