Weaving…

Today I  was looking through my photos that I took on a visit to Rajasthan in India way back in 2006. I was looking for one to paint.

I had a Canon 350D and was still at the stage of taking all my photos in Auto mode. Whilst the photos are not good photographically speaking, they still take me back to the wonderful time I had in India. I would love to go on another trip there…the colours, the people and the scenery are amazing…a photographer’s dream!

Anyway, in my foray into photos past, I found this one and thought it would make a good painting. Then I thought “Mandarin Orange Monday“!

This is the original photo…

Then I cropped the photo…

I made some adjustments in the Curves layer and the Vibrance layer and, finally, I sharpened the image…

LorikArt

5 Comments

  1. In my teens I started weaving on a small loom. never made the jump to a big loom like this, since I’m painting and knitting -just not enough hours in a day!

  2. Great processing. Thank you for describing what you did. The result is a beautiful image in its richness of colour and detail. I too visited Rajasthan – a long time ago – and I remember the colour everywhere-especially in the women’s clothes. I look forward to seeing more of your pics from India.Thank you for sharing your work on Mandarin Orange Monday:)

Leave a comment