Colour on a Grey Day…

It is grey and rainy today, but that doesn’t matter. It is lovely and cool and I bought a cheerful bunch of flowers this morning πŸ™‚

I am supposed to be working on a couple of baby projects that need to be completed by 24 April, but I have been sidetracked by my blog! Baby projects in progress? Two quilts and two teeny jerseys for the two grandchildren that are expected in May – so exciting! I leave for the UK on 25 April. Unfortunately, I am not allowed to show the projects on my blog, because my daughter (one of the expectant mums) does not want to see them before she receives them. I hope she will like hers and I hope, even more, that my daughter-in-law likes hers too! I have said that they can put the jerseys on the babies once ,when I am around, and then turf them after that if they don’t like the results – haha!

Anyway, I digress from the bunch of flowers. I thought it about time to submit an entry for MOM, so I took some photos and then played around with my edits. As usual, I do the edits and then forget to note the process. Generally, I do a couple of basic adjustments in Lightroom and then open them up in Photoshop and play a bit more there. I did remember to write down the edits I did with one of the photos…see explanation below the photo.

Bunch Flowers 02

My black and white version…

Bunch Flowers 04

Bunch Flowers Ocean Ripple

Editing Steps –

Desaturated the image

Added an Orange Colour Fill and changed the blend to Overlay 100%

Distort Layer – Ocean Ripple.

It does look as if one is gazing down into shallow watery depths. “Shallow depths”?? I wonder how that would be described in the English grammar??

LorikArt

5 Comments

  1. Great progression Rachel and I enjoyed reading about how you did it. It is always so hard to remember to write down the steps – and even when I do I sometimes have so much trouble deciphering it all!! I really like your final image – so soft and a little dreamy too.
    Thank you for sharing on Mandarin Orange Monday:)

  2. Ahhh I am always amazed how a pictures expression change when turned into black and white…I think I love it better than the colored πŸ™‚ and then on top of this you give it this brushy touch…I love the orange result…looks like you have painted it πŸ™‚ xox
    Conny
    http://piaromsartjournaling.blogspot.de

    1. Thank you Conny. It is always interesting to see how photographs work when changed to black & white. Many of them don’t work at all. I think the photos with the greatest contrast in light and dark tones work the best. Then I also have fun adding different blending layers e.g. Soft Light, Overlay etc

Leave a comment